2012-10-26T20:23:32-06:00Tools for Activists : Public records about cops at PoliceComplaints.infoMap of the City of Albuquerque's Spy Camerashttp://www.policecomplaints.info/tools/albuquerque_outdoor_surveillance_cameras.html2012-10-26T20:23:32-06:002012-10-26T20:23:32-06:00

These security and surveillance cameras were installed to help your city government spy on you. But the great news is that you can also use them to spy on your government. If you’ve been the victim of police misconduct near one of these cameras, you may be able to make an IPRA demand to obtain evidence.

We’ve only just begun work on this map. If you know of a security camera that may be controlled by the city, county, state or federal government, please contact us.


View City of Albuquerque Spy Cameras in a larger map

APOA Albuquerque Police Union Contracthttp://www.policecomplaints.info/tools/apoa_apd_union_contract.html2012-09-27T18:20:00-06:002012-09-27T18:20:00-06:00

This is the contract between the City of Albuquerque and the Albuquerque Police Officers’ Association (APOA), the union of the APD. City-employed attorneys have claimed that this contract prevents the Independent Review Officer, who investigates claims of police misconduct, from revealing officer names and discipline to the Police Oversight Commission.

Read the contract yourself:

And see our opinion: Does Police Union contract really require hiding info from the POC?

ABQ Transit Security Standard Operating Procedureshttp://www.policecomplaints.info/tools/abq_transit_sops.html2012-09-22T18:20:28-06:002012-09-22T18:20:28-06:00

The Albuquerque Transit Department maintains a staff of security guards who enforce city rules and regulations on city busses and at city bus stations. The security guards are not law enforcement officers, but they frequently effect citizen arrests and use force against people they detain.

This document lays out the Standard Operating Procedures of this pseudo-police department.

Copyright Notice. Read before downloading.

This electronic document was prepared by Police Complaints at our own expense and is protected by copyright law. Permission is granted to download and print one copy of this document for your own personal use. You may not duplicate or re-post this electronic document without prior permission from Police Complaints. No government agency or employee is permitted to download, access, reproduce or use this document without prior permission from Police Complaints. Server log files are monitored to ensure compliance by government employees with our copyright restrictions.

An index and commentary on the SOPs follows.

New Mexico's Inspection of Public Records Act (NM IPRA)http://www.policecomplaints.info/tools/inspection_of_public_records_act_ipra.html2012-08-12T14:41:00-06:002012-08-12T14:41:00-06:00

The New Mexico Attorney General has prepared a guide to IPRA, New Mexico’s Inspection of Public Records Act. This document contains the text of the law along with a very helpful commentary about how the law is to be applied.

Special order 12-26: Use of Lapel Camerashttp://www.policecomplaints.info/tools/publications/special_order_video_recordings.html2012-06-11T15:36:00-06:002012-06-11T15:36:00-06:00

Special order from Police Chief Ray Shultz mandating use of video cameras in almost all police-citizen contacts. Issued May 4, 2012. Text of the order follows. You can also download the Special Order: Use of Lapel Cameras

Adopt A Cop in Your Communityhttp://www.policecomplaints.info/tools/adopt_a_cop.html2012-01-09T14:31:00-07:002012-01-09T14:31:00-07:00

We ask community activists to Adopt a Cop. That just means picking one or more police officers, perhaps ones you have some kind of personal experience with, and then just commit to monitoring his or her public complaints file. It’s an easy and effective way to help us build up-to-date public profiles for the police officers in your community.

Report a Complaint about a Local Cophttp://www.policecomplaints.info/tools/send_complaint.html2012-01-09T14:31:00-07:002012-01-09T14:31:00-07:00

We accept the following types of reports of police misconduct:

We publish these complaints in our searchable police complaints registry and also in our blog. We never include your name in anything we publish online. When you send us copies of your complaints, you make it possible for people in your community to keep tabs on the police officers to whom they’ve entrusted their safety and their rights.

We accept written reports in various text formats, including email, RTF and Microsoft Word. For scanned documents, we prefer PDF documents. We’ll take almost anything you’ve got, but please help us out and refer to our formatting preferences.

Email your report to news@policecomplaints.info

We are currently accepting reports only for police officers in our charter city, Albuquerque, New Mexico. If you are interested in spearheading PoliceComplaints.info for another community, please contact us

How to Request Copies of an Officer's Public Complaints Filehttp://www.policecomplaints.info/tools/request_records_abq.html2012-01-09T14:30:00-07:002012-01-09T14:30:00-07:00

Our primary service is our searchable library of Internal Affairs records, documenting citizen complaints against police officers. It’s easy to get these public records for any police officer in Albuquerque. We encourage activists to Adopt a Cop and check regularly for updates to their Internal Affairs file.

The easiest way to get these records is to request them by email and pick them up at the police station downtown. Here’s how.

Police Complaints Flyer - Print and Post around Town!http://www.policecomplaints.info/tools/abq_flyer.htmlinvalidinvalid

Build community awareness about the need for police oversight in Albuquerque by posting our flyer on public bulletin boards.

Download the flyer

This color flyer prints 2-up. Cut each sheet in half to make two flyers. Then cut the tear-off strips at the bottom. Thumbtack not included!

How to prepare a public complaint file for publishinghttp://www.policecomplaints.info/tools/how_to_process_complaint_files.html2012-01-07T18:53:00-07:002012-01-07T18:53:00-07:00